12/08/19 | 16:00

Erik XIV’s home concert: Method and madness

29 | 27 | 15 €

Asasello Quartet:
Rostislav Kozhevnikov, violin
Barbara Streil, violin
Justyna Sliwa, viola
Teemu Myöhänen, cello

Nikita Boriso-Glebsky, violin
Tami Pohjola, violin
Kasmir Uusitupa, violin
Jakob Dingstad, viola
Tomas Nuñez-Garcés, cello
Juhani Lagerspetz, piano
Johannes Piirto, piano

Ludwig van Beethoven: Grosse Fuge, op. 133
Charles-Valentin Alkan: Grand Duo concertant, op. 21: II “L’Enfer” (Hell)
György Ligeti: Études: XIII. L’escalier du diable (The Devil’s Staircase)
Dmitri Šostakovitš: Piano Quintet in G minor op. 57

“This concert features some of the most devastating works in Western music. Beethoven’s Great Fugue is considered the world’s first modern musical work, and even today it still retains its power to shock the listener. The works by Alkan and Ligeti toy with themes of perdition and hell, and the programme concludes with a heart-stopping Piano Quintet.” – Klaus Mäkelä

1 h 15 min, no interval

Arriving to the Turku Castle and accessibility: http://www.turku.fi/en/turku-castle/visiting/getting-here

Psychiatrist Jari Sinkkonen gives a talk on Creativity & madness at the concert venue at 15.00 (40 min). Included in the concert ticket.


Artisteja ei löytynyt

Subscribe to our newsletter!

By subscribing to our newsletter you will be the first to know about new concerts, campaigns and news.